Rhine Main region

The Rhine Main region is one of the 11 metropolitan regions in Germany and is named after the two rivers Rhine and Main. It spans the three federal states of Hessen, Rhineland-Palatinate (Rhinehessen), and Bavaria (Lower Franconia). Although the metropolitan area has no clear-cut limits, its population is an estimated 5.5 million. 

Due to its central and easily accessible location the Rhine Main area was an economically powerful region as early as industrial times in the 19th century. Frankfurt is the home of the headquarters of many renowned companies, e.g. the European Central Bank and the Frankfurt Stock Exchange. 

The most important economic and political cities are Frankfurt am Main (banking metropolis), Wiesbaden (state capital of Hessen), Mainz (state capital of Rhineland-Palatinate), and Darmstadt (City of Science).

The following cities and sights in the Rhine Main region are definitely worth a visit:

Culture, e.g. museums, shopping paradise, night life

Small upland region with gorgeous landscape, old half-timbered houses


City in the Odenwald region with several historical buildings, beautiful Christmas market

Scenic wine-growing area, ideal for bike tours

Grube Messel
UNESCO World Heritage Natural Sight – fossil excavation site, museum

Abbey of Lorsch („Kloster Lorsch“)
UNESCO World Cultural Heritage - historic abbey of the Benedictines

More Information


Ms Marina Zielke
Telefon: +49.6151.16-38014
Email: incoming.int@h-da.de
Office: D20, 106
Open Office Hours:
Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
10:00 - 12:00 am
Thursday 2:00 - 3:30 pm

How to get around:

The student ID card of h_da is at the same time your ticket for public transportation. More information can be found here